The Beginnings

I’ve been meaning to start a blog for some time now about my many adventures I seem to find myself going on. With the start of this new job it seems like now is the perfect time to do it. I’m pretty bad at keeping up a journal so I don’t know how often I’ll get around to keeping up this blog but I’ll try my best, as this blog will really be my only form of communication to the outside world (well, other than Facebook and email of course).

Since I’ve been getting a lot of questions about how I found out and got my current job, here is a little background to where I’m at and what I’m doing now:

Well, I guess the story really started way back in January of 2011 when at the time my girlfriend Lissa and I had just moved to Portland, Oregon to find work. We were looking for nearby outdoorsy things to go do when we stumbled upon a website about Goldmyer Hot Springs. Goldmyer was a little too far away for us to make a day trip out of, but we added it to our list of things to go do in the very near future. I was amazed that I had never heard of it as it wasn’t too far from my home town of Graham, Washington. By February Lissa and I moved on from Portland and found separate adventures to go on.

Fast forward many months: After a summer working throughout New England along the Northern Forest Canoe Trail and the fall working to stop the Keystone XL Pipeline, I moved back to my childhood home in Graham and started looking for my next adventure in life. On a rainy November day I was researching outdoor adventures to share with my 13 year old nephew when I remembered about Goldmyer. I figured he would get a kick out soaking in a Hot Springs. After a little digging around I discovered that you needed reservations to soak at the springs and the upcoming weekend was already full. Bummer :-(. But while searching the Goldmyer website I discovered a posting that they were looking for a pair of resident caretakers. The job sounding interesting but I wasn’t seriously considering it as I wanted to do more activism and environmental organizing. I mentioned the job listing to Lissa, who was, like me, jobless for the winter. After briefly discussing it we thought that it might be fun to do for a month or two after the first of the new year if they had spots open.

Lissa and I ended up applying, and in December we took a trip up to Goldmyer for a visit and to meet the current caretakers. After experiencing the magic that is Goldmyer and conversing with Will and Kate, the current caretakers, Lissa and I walked away excited at the possibility of living in such an enchanted place. It turned out that the job was a summer gig, starting in April and lasting until October.  A few days later we met with Don, Chairman of the board of directors of the non-profit that owns Goldmyer, for an informal interview. This was perhaps one of the easiest and longest interviews either Lissa or I have ever been on. Don chatted away for almost four hours asking us only three questions!

By mid January we had received an official offer but continued to debate whether or not we should actually do it. It was one thing to do it for a month or two in winter while waiting to start something else, but for six months was a big time commitment (especially since the last time I had a job that lasted longer than six months was back in 2009). As the weeks rolled by Lissa and I kept flip-flopping on our decision (I would say yes, she would say no, then I would say yes and she would say no). I even had lively debates with myself and I’m sure my indecision drove several people nuts. On the table, I had one other opportunity in the works, to go back to the Green Mountain State and hook up 350Vermont. In the end, my love of the wilderness won out. To live in a cabin surrounded by old growth trees and soak in a hot spring everyday was just too good of an opportunity to pass up. Long story short, we ended up accepting the job and as they say, the rest is history.

“There are some who can live without wild things and some who cannot.” – Aldo Leopold

One thought on “The Beginnings

Leave a Reply

