“I’ll Be Your Caretaker This Evening” (I.S.)

After navigating unfamiliar city streets in the dark, Lissa and I arrived at our destination, a downtown Seattle apartment building. Our host for the night greets us at my car; “I’ll be your caretaker this evening. If you drive around the corner and turn down the alley, I’ll let you in and show you where to park.”

We met Zach a couple nights before while he and some friends were camping at Goldmyer. The night before our vacation away from Goldmyer I stayed up late chatting with Zach and his comrades in the springs. They were a great group to get to know. We shared adventure stories and played get to know you games until we were all soaked out. At some point I mentioned to the group to not be surprised if in the morning upon check out that there may be new caretakers, as we were heading out for a few days. I told them of my plans to participate in the annual Fremont Solstice Parade as one of the many painted naked cyclists! Zach, being a very generous fellow offered us a place to stay for a night if we needed it. My parents live a couple hours south of the Seattle so I didn’t think we would need it. However, in the end we took Zach up on his offer as we decided that it might be more convenient for us to already be in Seattle first thing Saturday morning so we wouldn’t have to fight much traffic.

After we parked the car, Zach led us up to his 5th story apartment that he shared with a beautiful husky named Lhasa and his partner who was out of town on business. We greeted his dog and listened intently as Zach ran down the “property rules”. It was his turn to play caretaker and ours to be the visitors. Afterwards, he led us to the rooftop patio garden where we chatted awhile, looking out over the city. The glow of the city has its own beauty that lasts for a few minutes. But give me a clear night sky with stars or a back drop of ragged peaks anytime.

That night Lissa and I slept restlessly as light and noises of the city crept though closed blinds and open windows filling our ears with unnatural and unpleasant sounds. The following morning we bade our goodbyes and parted ways. In the end, we didn’t save much time by staying in Seattle and arrived at the painting party much later then I had wanted, almost missing it entirely. All-in-all though, we still had a wonderful time getting to know Zach. Hopefully our paths will cross again someday.

One thought on ““I’ll Be Your Caretaker This Evening” (I.S.)

  1. Wonderful. thank you.

    “The glow of the city has its own beauty that lasts for a few minutes. But give me a clear night sky with stars or a back drop of ragged peaks anytime.”

Leave a Reply

